Back to Music

Dolorous (CD)


Categories: , ,




1. Dolorous
2. I’m Only Here
3. Newish
4. Night Bird
5. Hungry
6. Seasons
7. Fatherland
8. On My Own
9. White
10. Pass The Ball
11. Far Away


Release Date: April 8, 2014

Press Quotes for Dolorous:


“A new kind of futuristic folk mixed with pop mixed with fragments of electronica and rendered incandescent by echoes of the blues” – Nik Piras, Amica.


“This little gem of a supreme artist” – Silvio Pizzica, Ondarock.


“I love to lose myself in the spaces of the deliberately minimal music of Gil Hockman…’Dolorous’ is one of those albums that you listen to, and you consume, slowly.” – Claudio Baroni, Libero.


“Dolorous is worth a listen and this singer deserves more than the few hundred Spotify plays on his songs” – Agathe Danon, Indie Style


“He is able to write simple and delicate pieces. He manages to move without falling into pathos. Using a simple folk or electric guitar and a synth, it works wonders.” – Béber, MusicZine


“Dolorous is a beautiful hymn to the Spleen, the gentle heat of melancholy, au taedium vitae, a dangerous game that claimed the lives of Kurt Cobain, Elliott Smith, Ian Curtis, Mark Linkous …” – Mike S., La Magic Box


“Gil Hockman prints his music its own brand, made ​​of tranquility and nostalgic melancholy introspection.” – François Becquart, Music In Belgium


“We are pleased to finally hear a supposedly folk album that is not as tiring. Skilled in his arrangements, minimal, Hockman puts life in his allegory” – Will Dum, MuzzArt


“The production is top notch all around. Hockman makes some bold leaps on Dolorous…[his] songwriting just seems to be getting better and he knows what works in the studio. This is a very fine effort and is highly recommended.”
 – Matt Jensen, The Equal Ground


“Dolorous shifts Gil’s music (and career) into another gear, delivers something new and unexpected. It both rocks and rolls, and it’s incredibly diverse both lyrically and musically.”
 – Floris Groenewald, SA Music Scene