Back to Music

Becoming (CD)


Categories: , ,




1. The Days of our Lives
2. Untitled
3. Wednesday 7 September
4. Talking to a Man
5. Somewhere Else
6. Top of the Hill
7. Rope_ankle
8. Coming In
9. Dreaming
10. Scheming


Release Date: November 10 2017

Press Quotes for Becoming:


“One of the most beautiful singer-songwritings of 2017” – MusicMap


“Loosely curved songwriting mixes lo-fi synths and sometimes hectic rhythmic particles with sensual-lost melodies, so light yet so expressive that it’s a real pleasure.” – Intro


“Darker and more intriguing than the first opus…Gil retains a free, modern spirit that propels his music beyond the Folk label…Simply beautiful.” – La Magic Box


“A child of the spirit of the times, that Hockman” – Gonzo Circus


“Placing itself between art-folk, classic rock and indie-pop, finding in each genre all that can stick together with strong and intelligent melodies.” – Liability


“Ten charming, beguiling lo-fi pieces” – NONPOP


“A disarmed mix of tradition and the future. With his futuristic folk, including folktronics and indietronics, he brings his songs to the audience in a golden way.” – De Subjectivisten


“An album that brings Conor Oberst closer to Elliot Smith via Mark Kozelek.” – Rumore


“A refined pop that has an affinity with the solo Damon Albarn” – Rockerilla


“Gil Hockman seduced in 2015 with the album Dolorous . Without much change to his melancholy folk pop style, he comes back with 10 adorable songs.” – Pop Revue Express


“The songs are mostly in minor colors, but this is the sadness called sweet, they listen with pleasure and you regret when they end.” – Jazzquad